The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks

Image

 

RATING: 3.5/5

BLURB: “Seventeen-year-old Veronica ‘Ronnie’ Miller’s life was turned upside down when her parents divorced and her father moved from New York to Wilmington, North Carolina. Since then she has remained angry and alienated from her parents, until her mother decides she should spend the summer with her father. Ronnie’s father, a former concert pianist and teacher, is living a quiet life in the beach town, immersed in creating a work of art that will become the centrepiece of a local church. What unfolds is an unforgettable tale about love – first love and the love between parents and children – that demonstrates the many ways that relationships can break our hearts…and heal them.”

REVIEW: I feel that I should first give warning that this book made me cry more than any other book has done for a while. And when I say cry, I mean lay in my bed sobbing into the duvet for a good half an hour. I love reading Nicholas Sparks’ novels; the writing may be simplistic and the plotlines often predictable, but there is always a shock near the end of the novel that leaves me either breathless or bawling, and I admire Sparks for that. And although the writing does seem simple, Sparks can write to evoke true and pure emotion – the character of Jonah, Ronnie’s younger brother, was particularly well-written throughout the novel, and had me heartbroken by the end of it. Despite the fact that the novel is a romance, with a beautifully told story of love between two young, lost teenagers, Ronnie and Will (who, I must confess, I fell in love with a little bit), I would state that the real emotion and beauty of the novel comes with the changing and developing relationship between Ronnie and her father, which fast became one of my favourite relationships out of all of Sparks’ novels. I would definitely recommend this book – but when you buy it, make sure to pick up a tub of ice cream and a box of tissues, too!

Leave a Reply

