The Book Thief Movie

I don’t normally write much about films on here (as much as I love them) because books are my real passion, but I went to see the recently released film adaptation of The Book Thief tonight and I just really feel the need to write about it! First of all I should state that I read this book about seven years ago when I was twelve, and since then I have re-read it more times than I can count. It is one of my favourite books of all time (definitely in my Top 5) and has always really stayed with me and inspired me. It was also the first book to emotionally break me. Considering all of this, I went into the film both with high expectations and high concerns; I was terrified that they would ruin this, one of the books I care about above many others. I was worried that the plotline would be drastically altered (there was talk of the ending being rewritten due to the horrifying nature of it as it is portrayed in the novel) or that the characters would not act as I expected. I am very pleased to say that I was wrong. The adaptation was beautifully filmed, acted, written and directed. It stuck closely to the plotline of the book (though of course not all of the details could be included, as the book is around 500 pages) and often used quotes that I recognised – and, in some cases, could recite (told you I’d read it a lot of times!). And even though I knew exactly what was going to happen in those closing moments, I still sobbed just as I do everytime I read the book. The friends who came with me hadn’t read the book before, but all agreed that the film was brilliant and are now all desperate to read it. And they, too, sobbed when the ending came around. It is one of the best book-to-screen adaptations I have ever seen and I would highly recommend it to all (but take tissues! And wear waterproof mascara).

Leave a Reply

