Charles Dickens Museum

I apologise for the lack of book reviews lately – what with revision and exams I’ve had no time to type up any semblance of a decent review! I have kept a catalogue of the books I’ve read and my thoughts on them though, so don’t worry, I’ll be able to pick up where I left off! Just thought I’d give you a slightly different something to look at today as I don’t really have time to type up a full review, and here it is; a post about the lovely Charles Dickens Museum.

I went to the museum a few weeks ago and just had to share it with my fellow fans of literature. Located on Doughty Street in central London, the Charles Dickens Museum is based in the house Dickens lived in when he wrote Oliver Twist and the Pickwick Papers. It has been beautifully refurbished and contains many beautiful original artefacts from Dickens’ time there, such as his writing desk and a lock of his hair. The rooms are filled with not only wonderful objects to admire but are also full of fascinating facts that even a huge Dickens fan like myself had not previously been aware of. It’s easy to locate and can be reached from numerous tube stations on the London Underground – we went from King’s Cross but places like Russell Square and Holborn would probably be a bit closer. The shop also had lots of fun, quirky products that would make gifts or treats to yourself. Just to give you a taster, here are some photos I took while I was at the museum 🙂

ImageImageImageImageImage

The top two photos were taken in my favourite room; it was great fun to test myself and see if I could remember where all the quote came from! The small Victorian tea room that we went to for lunch after our lunch was also lovely, and the food delicious despite it being a little bit pricey. Here’s a link to the website for more information: http://www.dickensmuseum.com/

Enjoy your trip! And keep an eagle eye for more book reviews coming soon – exams are over in two weeks! 

One thought on “Charles Dickens Museum

  1. Pingback: #DailyBookQuote 07May14 : Charles Dickens The Pickwick Papers | Whatever It's Worth...

Leave a Reply

