Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot

download

RATING: 4/5

BLURB: “Princess Mia’s life in New York City is one glamorous whirlwind. Not only does she have to deal with nosy gossip columnists on a daily basis and the paparazzi following her every move, she’s also expected to enchant wealthy strangers at royal engagements. Speaking of engagements…Mia’s gorgeous long-term boyfriend Michael has popped The Question on an exotic Caribbean island. Finally they’re ready to settle down…or so she thought. When Mia and Michael return from their romantic hideaway, they discover that they are embroiled in a scandal of majestic proportions! A scandal that could turn the normally calm Michael into a runaway groom….Worse still, a scheming politico is trying to force Mia’s father from the throne. Mia may be ready to wed, but is she ready to rule as well?”

REVIEW: I grew up absolutely obsessed with the original Princess Diaries series. When I was younger I used to get the audiobooks out from my local library and listen to them before bed, and in my teenage years I devoured every book in the series over and over, and cried my eyes out when I finally finished what I thought would be the final instalment. I had always identified with the shy, geeky, awkward girl that Mia was on the inside, and losing her felt like losing a friend I’d had for years. So you can imagine how excited I was when I read that a new installment was to be released. Cabot has not changed Mia a bit, despite the events that have occurred in the life of our favourite Genovian Princess since she graduated from high school in the last book; her stepfather Mr Gianni is dead, leaving the way open for her father to win back her mother at last; her close friends Tina Hakim-Baba and Boris Pelowski (now an international superstar) have broken up; and she is being attacked by protesters, and a mysterious stalker, over her plans to allow refugees into Genovia.Thankfully, some things have stayed the same for Mia; her boyfriend Michael has remained a constant and I was ecstatic to read more about their relationship – and for him to propose! – in this novel. She also still has her best friend Lilly Moscovitz, Michael’s sister, and her beloved cat Fat Louie. Over the course of the novel, however, which retains Cabot’s witty, funny and briliiantly relatable style, many twists and turns take place which make Mia’s path to the throne even more stressful than usual. I don’t want to spoil them here, but I will say that there will be many surprises for previous readers of the series, all of them guaranteed to bring a smile. I can’t wait to see if Cabot is going to write any further books about the brilliant Mia Thermopolis, and I will certainly be reading them if she does.

Leave a Reply

