The Wicked Will Rise by Danielle Paige

index

RATING: 3.5/5

BLURB: “My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas. After a tornado swept through my trailer park, I ended up in Oz. But it wasn’t like the Oz I knew from books and movies. Dorothy had returned, and she was stealing magic from the land. The Wizard was back. Glinda could no longer be called the Good Witch. And the Wicked Witches who were left? They’d joined forces as the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked, and they wanted to recruit me. My mission? Kill Dorothy. Except my job as an assassin didn’t work out as planned. Dorothy is still alive. The Order has vanished. And the home I couldn’t wait to leave behind might be in danger. But in a place where the line between good and evil shifts with a strong gust of wind…who am I supposed to trust? And who is actually Wicked?”

REVIEW: This second installment of the ‘Dorothy Must Die’ series picks up immediately after the previous novel left off, with Amy and her monkey friends Ollie and Maud fleeing to seek safety with the rest of the flying monkeys. Amy has failed her orders to kill Dorothy, who has escaped along with Glinda, and has also found herself without a clue of how to find the rest of the Order. With the demented Ozma/Pete in tow, Amy and her friends seek sanctuary with the somewhat unfriendly Lurline, and experience ever more adventures as they try to keep out of Dorothy’s clutches and find the rest of the order. It is difficult to describe the book in too much detail as I don’t wish to give anything away, particularly as the final installment of the trilogy has only just been released. This book is as easy to read as the first and is gripping and fast-paced, full of action; because of this, things can sometimes seem a little rushed and may require more than one read, but this is simply due to the many dangers and chaotic events that follow Amy rather than being a flaw in the writing of the author. The twist at the end, which involves both Amy and Dorothy, is brilliant and sets us up nicely for the next book, ‘Yellow Brick Wars’, which promises to be just as exciting and thrilling as the rest of the series!

Leave a comment