Life Lessons from a Greyhound by Angela Reed-Fox

510SIgBG8BL._AC_UL320_SR200,320_.jpg

RATING: 5/5

BLURB: “Fancy some life coaching on the cheap? Read on for the pearls of wisdom handed on to me by my rescue dog, Sean. I didn’t think I needed much help with running my life – least of a all from a two-year-old greyhound who was considered too rubbish to race; a dog whose only experience of life was the boredom of long hours spent alone in a bare kennel with occasional minutes of running around in circles; a dog who didn’t even know his own name. How wrong I was…it was life-changing. My perspective on swans, cats and other aliens has completely changed, as has my view of the present tense (and the importance of it). Sean and I have not known each other very long – but so far, it’s been a blast.”

REVIEW: As a few of my lovely friends who are kind enough to read this blog will know very well, and as the rest of you will probably not, I myself have a rescued retired greyhound. His name is Ginger and we got him when he retired from racing at the age of five. We’ve had him nearly three years now and it’s not an exaggeration for me to say that he is my life. I absolutely adore him and he’s taught me so much; he’s my best friend, my cuddle monster, my thunder buddy, and possibly the biggest wimp on the planet. Like Sean, the dog owned by the author of this book, the first years of Ginge’s life saw him alone and in kennels, and as well as being fun and entertaining this book also aims to raise awareness for how many greyhounds are left without a home, unwanted, whether because they are not strong enough to race or breed or because they have raced for years and are now too old and weak to run any more. The fate suffered by many greyhounds is truly horrific, and if I go into it in too much detail here then I will be greatly upset by it – though do leave a comment if you wish to have some more information about greyhounds generally, greyhound racing or how to find greyhounds for adoption and rehoming, I would be all too happy to help. The main objective of this book, however, is to transform the funny quirks that greyhounds have into life lessons for us humans, and it is done with both comedy and emotion, offering up advice that made me laugh and also made me go over and give Ginger a big cuddle! This is a great book for any dog lover, but I would definitely highly recommend it to any greyhound owners and to anyone who wants to learn more about the breed as a fun and witty introduction.

3 thoughts on “Life Lessons from a Greyhound by Angela Reed-Fox

  1. Pingback: Life Lessons from a Greyhound by Angela Reed-Fox – Angela Reed-Fox

  2. Very good blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics talked about in this article? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get feed-back from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any reosnmendatiomc, please let me know. Thank you!

    • Hey! Thank you very much and thanks for taking the time to read and leave a comment, I really appreciate it 🙂 I can’t think of any online communities offhand, though I am part of a Facebook group called Retired Greyhound Chat which is an amazing community, very friendly and also very helpful if you have any questions. You could also contact the charity Retired Greyhound Trust if you would like more information!

Leave a Reply

